National Teleconference -Tracking Voter Suppression in the 2012 Elections - Tuesday, April 24th

National Teleconference -Tracking Voter Suppression in the 2012 Elections - Tuesday, April 24th

Story tools

Comments

A A AResize

Print

Share and Email

 
 HOSTED BY NEW AMERICA MEDIA AND THE BRENNAN CENTER FOR JUSTICE AT NYU SCHOOL OF LAW

When:Tuesday, April 24, 11:00 AM PST, 12 Noon MT, 1 PM CT, 2 PM EST

To register for this teleconference call, please click here

What: Wendy Weiser, Director of Democracy Program, Brennan Center:
Overview of Restrictive Voter Laws — Impact on Communities of Color and Young Voters

Myrna Pérez, Senior Counsel, Brennan Center:
Challenges to Voting Rights Act/Cornerstone of Civil Rights Legislation

Trey Martinez Fischer, Mexican American Legislative Caucus (MALC) Chairman
and Texas State Representative:
Impact on Texas Voters

Where to go for more information: http://www.brennancenter.org/votingchanges2012

Why: Since the beginning of 2011, we have seen a surge in suppressive voting laws, with 24 laws and executive actions passing in 17 states. Together, these laws could make it harder for millions of voters — particularly minority, immigrant, the elderly, and the young — to cast ballots in the 2012 elections. Between April and November, NAM will partner with the Brennan Center and other national research and advocacy organizations to host monthly teleconference calls, produce weekly columns and alerts, and host roundtables in key states. The goal is to build a collective news and advocacy platform in the ethnic media sector to counter voter suppression efforts and ensure every eligible voter can vote.

RSVP: Dana Levine
dlevine@newamericamedia.org


 

Comments

 

Disclaimer: Comments do not necessarily reflect the views of New America Media. NAM reserves the right to edit or delete comments. Once published, comments are visible to search engines and will remain in their archives. If you do not want your identity connected to comments on this site, please refrain from commenting or use a handle or alias instead of your real name.