Walter Mosley and Countee Cullen to Enter N.Y. Writers Hall of Fame

Story tools

A A AResize



The New York State Writers Hall of Fame will honor Walter Mosley and Countee Cullen as part of the organization's 2013 induction of eight living or deceased writers, Rocco Staino, director of the Empire State Center for the Book, which sponsors the event, tells The NorthStar News & Analysis.

Mosley will be inducted into the hall fame with three living writers, including Marilyn Hacker, Alice McDermott and Calvin Trillin.

Cullen, who died in 1946, will be inducted with three deceased writers, including James Fenimore Cooper, Miguel Piñero and Maurice Sendak.

Sam Roberts, a New York Times reporter and author, will host the ceremony, which will be held on Tuesday, June 4, 2013, at The Princeton Club of New York in Manhattan.

A committee that includes librarians and publishers select writers for induction into the hall of fame based on their body of work, Staino said. The hall of fame, which held its first induction ceremony in 2010, is called the writers hall of fame instead of the authors hall of fame because journalists, as well as poets, are included among its inductees, he added.

Read the full story at The NorthStar News