Undocumented Immigrants from 3 Ebola-Affected West African Countries Will Not Be Deported

Story tools

A A AResize


President Barack Obama will address the nation Thursday night to shed light on his plans to provide deportation relief to millions of undocumented immigrants living in the United States, and those immigrants who come from the three West African nations most affected by the current Ebola epidemic got some early news.

“The Obama administration is offering immigrants from the three countries at the center of West Africa’s Ebola crisis protection from deportation, and work permits,” the Associated Press is reporting.
See Also

The Consequences of Letting the Government Invade Your Privacy
There’s a Lot That Needs Fixing, So Why Focus on Immigration?
GOP Selects a Nearly All-Male Slate of Committee Chairs for the 114th Congress
Will the New Black Republicans in Congress Be Lawmakers—or Talk Show Hosts?
Affordable Care Act Open Enrollment Begins Again Saturday

It's an opportunity to stay in the United States temporarily and work. “U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services says immigrants living in the country illegally from Sierra Leone, Guinea and Liberia will be eligible for Temporary Protected Status for up to 18 months,” the report continued.

Eligible immigrants can begin to apply for this temporary deportation relief on Friday and have until May 20, 2015, to apply.

“Any immigrant from those three countries who was in the United States as of November 19, 2014, is eligible for the protection program,” the AP report explained.